• Home
  • Blog

2011 Article Start the year as you intend to continue it Ashley Jones

Home Forums Getstrength Community Forum – Strength and Conditioning Training Archives Strength / Mass / Power / Speed Programs 2011 Article Start the year as you intend to continue it Ashley Jones

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Getstrength
    Participant

Posted By Getstrength on behalf of Ashley Jones.

Just a few ideas to get the New Year off and running, enjoy, ash

Whilst I await the return of my players to commence pre-season training I thought it would be a good time to write down a few ideas for you to consider in your training going forward into 2011. As most of you know I have been a student of strength training for many years, I love the Strength Pentathlon as a way of gauging your all around strength using the competition lifting of the 2 Olympic lifts and 3 Power Lifts as a testing protocol and training regime.

Before you train I like these options for warm ups, taken from a variety of the current crop of great writers around the world, if you are unsure of some movements the Exercise index provided by http://www.elitefts.com is a great reference as is you tube and google, you actually may know these by different names, for the bodyweight circuit go to http://www.combatconditioning.com and see what Matt Furey has produced. Remember that is you do not think you have the time to warm up then you definitely do not have the time to work out!

Option 1
    High Hurdle Mobility Circuit – Forward/Back, Under/Over
    Skipping KB Swings – 30 seconds Hurdles/30 seconds skip/30 seconds KB swings mix it up rest 30 seconds repeat

Option 2
    Plate Circuit (6 each movement x 3 times through)
    Plate Swings/Overhead Squat/Plate Head Circles/Plate Horizontal Push/Plate Wood Chop/Alt. Reverse Lunge with Twist/Plate Bent over Row

KB Circuit (6 reps each exercise x 3 times through)