For DY

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Getstrength
    Participant

Posted by Getstrength on behalf of Ashley Jones

For DY
    Thank you for getting me to think more, question more and to start writing again, you inspire me to be the best I can be each and every day.

It has been a while since I last thought about something to put on paper, that maybe of interest to readers of Get Strength, hope you find it so and of course feel free to ask questions.

When I graduated from my bachelor’s degree in 1986 (aged 25), I knew it all, when I started my NRL career with the Newcastle Knights in 1994 (33), I realized I knew about a half of what I did and had the steepest learning curve in my life to date, now about to enter my 8th season with the Crusaders rugby team I know very little but have started to ask better questions.

Years ago my colleague and life long friend Peter Harding, now the Wallabies strength & conditioning coach, said something that has always remained with me, “Complicate to Profit”. A truer phrase has never been uttered, for the majority of trainers and trainees out there Basic is Best!

Finding out what best works for you is often a life long pursuit, so at this stage I wanted to share with you what I am currently experimenting on myself training wise, and will keep you updated on results.

I love Olympic lifting, so this is my weight training of choice, as much for my mind and spirit as it is for my body, to compliment this I like treadmill/spin bike intervals/recoveries. I prefer intervals since I prefer to train with intensity and I can control the variables inside and on a treadmill, I can also set up a spin bike alongside the treadmill, so I can “fall off” the treadmill and get straight on a bike to assist in the dissipation of lactate.

Monday – Snatch, Snatch Pulls, Push Press

Wednesday – High Block Power Snatch, Low Block Power Clean, Military Press, Squat